Daubin Well Quarry an industrial and natural epic
The Puits à Daubin quarry, or Chemin de Vez quarry, in Éméville, opened in 1895 by Fréjus Daubin, is a historical site located in the Oise department, just outside the village of Éméville. Primarily exploited during the 19th and early 20th centuries , this limestone quarry played a crucial role in the region's development, supplying building materials for numerous local buildings and infrastructure.
A prestigious material
The stone extracted from the Vez quarry was used in the construction of buildings such as churches, bridges and public monuments.
It was also exported to other regions of France, playing an important economic role and thus contributing to the reputation of the quarry beyond local borders.
Zoom on the merry-go-round winch
This merry-go-round winch has been in its complete configuration since 2017. It is of exceptional heritage interest due to its lifting power, which required the use of three horses.
The evolution of exploitation
In 1913, the company Civet Pommier et Compagnie bought the quarry and dug the descent from the road to Puits à Daubin. Extraction ended in the early 1960s, after which the site was abandoned. Later, the quarry was used for sinking endives.
Preservation and enhancement
Today, the "Roches & Carrières" association works to safeguard this quarry, protect the bats and preserve the memory of the quarries and quarrymen of the upper Vallée de l'Automne by organizing guided tours.
How to get there ?
Guided tour of the quarry
Immerse yourself in the world of quarrymen and explore an underground quarry steeped in history. This discreet location will offer you an immersive and unforgettable experience. Don't hesitate to contact the Tourist Office.









